Appreciation

So, I’m sure those of you that steadily read my blog have noticed that more often then not, I write when I am upset or sad. While I do think this blog is a great place to voice my frustrations, I am just now realizing that more often than not, I whine and complain. So today, I’m going to talk about how proud I am of my accomplishments thus far and how much I appreciate all of the opportunities I’ve been granted here at the University of Tennessee.

First of all, I’m not sure how often a freshman in a sorority is granted an executive council position, but I am certain it is not often. Though I do stress out about it, I am so grateful to my sorority sisters for placing the trust in me to carry out such a work-heavy position that allows me to plan events and be more involved. I have gotten to meet over a dozen of our alumnae and plan events that have given me a more organized and adult perspective about how to plan events.

Secondly, I was chosen as a representative of the University of Tennessee as an Ambassador, otherwise known as the campus tour guides. Although I’m a freshman, they saw me fit to lead tours and I was chosen as one of the 21 new ambassadors out of the 250 that applied. The weekly classes have introduced me to other students with high aspirations and minds similar to my own, and has gotten me to fall even more in love with my school.

Although it may not seem like much, my GPA has remained above the sorority and university average, and is expected to improve from my first to second semester, which shows me that I am only growing and improving as I get adjusted. I am a semester ahead of my peers and expect to travel abroad in my junior year, which is really exciting to already be on track for taking a semester off.

I am chosen to help with events for my sorority such as our panhellenic preview and get a firsthand look at how we recruit girls as well as inspiration for how to improve us further in the future.

Long story short, I may post more about things I’m upset with, however I have so much to be grateful for, as I’m sure all of you do too. It’s easy to get caught up in the daily struggles of exams and deadlines, however it’s nice to take a moment and appreciate where God has put you and where you see yourself going in the future.

Leave a Reply

