Raw Eating

Well, you heard it here first folks. I am officially a pretentious, food conscious, body-image obsessed health nut who counts macros in her free time and purposefully eats -2000 calories a day… Just kidding.

Really though, as an experiment I thought it would be interesting to see how much clean eating for a week would affect my mood, energy, health, and overall productivity. By clean eating, I mean unprocessed foods that are in their whole form. This means I eat a majority of leafy greens and vegetables, fruits, nuts, and a few eggs and legumes as well. So yes, as I write this I am eating eggs with avocado. It’s okay, I would judge me too if I were you.

Really though, day one is going well! Thus far I’ve made a spinach and strawberry smoothie, a few eggs, a giant salad (which had olives, cucumber, carrots, corn, black beans, and was delicious ), and now here I sit with my *second* round of eggs and a mashed avocado. For the record, I didn’t really intend for it to be meal time, but I dropped an avocado and it broke open so I didn’t have much of a choice.

Honestly though, so far it’s really not that bad. Yes, I smelled pizza in the cafeteria during lunch and wanted it so. bad. but the food options available to me taste good and don’t leave me feeling sluggish or nauseous afterwards. My morning workout felt shorter than it normally does, and I’ve been fully sated by most of my snacks and meals so far.

I guess I thought I’d try a week of fully unprocessed foods mainly to see how healthy eating would affect me if I went for an extreme eating plan. In recent weeks, I’ve been watching what I eat more closely and making an effort to exercise five times a week, and even though I’ve eaten poorly some days and skipped the gym a few times, I feel great! As the weeks have gone on, I’ve grown to crave salads and get excited for the gym. The saying that “it takes 21 days to create a habit” has proven itself to be extremely true, as I feel good after leaving the gym and look forward to the next time I can go.

After seeing how great my improved lifestyle has made me feel, I’m curious to see how this week of hell… I mean, health, will make me feel in the end. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

