The Mountains are Calling

IMG_7336.JPGCampus is great, don’t get me wrong. My friends are here, there is food on every street corner, and bars and parties to go to every weekend. However, sometimes I just need to get away to somewhere without the bustle of people and screech of tires. Today I went with two of my best friends to Max Patch in Pisgah National Forest, and I haven’t felt quite so relaxed in a long time.

Several long winding trails led their way up to this large bald patch of grass on top of a hill that allowed us a vision of mountains on every side as far as our eyes could see. It was truly incredible. There were maybe five other people up the trail which allowed a level of silence I didn’t think possible at 1:00 pm on a Friday afternoon.

As we goofed around and took pictures, I couldn’t help but think that every person needs a little more of this in their life. I’m so lucky to have stumbled upon friends who enjoy being in nature as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

